Gold Medal Winners

The Gold Medal of the Irish Legal History Society was inaugurated in 2004. The Gold Medal may be awarded to a person who has made a contribution to the study of legal history. The Council of the Society shall decide when, and to whom, the Gold Medal is to be awarded.

The Gold Medal of the Society has been awarded to the following:


The Gold Medal was presented to Professor Colum Kenny BL by the Society’s President, Sir
Donnell Deeny.


The Society’s Gold Medal was awarded to Mr Daire Hogan in 2016.


The Hon. Mr Justice Ronan Keane, former Chief Justice of Ireland, received the Society’s Gold Medal on 27 November 2015.


Sir Anthony Hart, retired judge of the High Court of Northern Ireland, received the Gold Medal for 2012 at a ceremony held at Glasnevin cemetery, Dublin on 30 November 2012.


Professor Geoffrey Hand, formerly professor of law in University College, Dublin, the European University Institute, Florence, and the University of Birmingham, received the Gold Medal for 2010 at a ceremony held at his home in Dublin on 29 January 2011.

Pictured: Professor James McGuire, Professor Norma Dawson, the Sir Anthony Hart and Professor Geoffery Hand. Further photographs of the event can be viewed here.


Professor James McGuire MRIA, president of the Society, adjunct professor in University College Dublin, and managing editor of the Dictionary of Irish Biography, received the Gold Medal at a ceremony held in the Upper Bar Library, Royal Courts of Justice, Belfast on 26 February 2010.


Professor Sir John Baker FBA, Downing Professor of the Laws of England in the University of Cambridge and fellow of St Catherine’s College, Cambridge, received the award on 9 March 2007 at Newman House, Merrion Square Dublin.


Dr Paul Brand FBA, FRHistS, senior research fellow of All Souls’ College, Oxford. The award ceremony took place on 15 February 2006 in the Canada Room in Queen’s University, Belfast.


Professor W.N. Osborough MRIA, founder, literary editor and past president of the Irish Legal History Society, emeritus professor of Jurisprudence and Legal History, University College, Dublin. Professor Osborough received the medal at a ceremony held in the Dublin City Library and Archives on 26 November 2004.