Prizes awarded at the Winter Discourse

The 2022 Winter Discourse was the occasion of the awarding of three prizes.

Prof Norma Dawson CBE was awarded the Society’s Gold Medal for her services to Irish legal history over a long and distinguished career.

The W.N. Osborough Composition Prize in Legal History was awarded to Dr Ben Hazard (School of History, UCD) for ‘Thomas Wadding, Waterford landowner and lawyer of Gray’s Inn, 1562–1613’.

The Irish Legal History Bursary was awarded to John Marshall to further his research in London on the Leinster lordship in the thirteenth century.

The three recipients are pictured above with the President of the Society, Mr John Gordon DL